Saturday, January 26, 2008

Names of the treaty
Another treaty was signed the same day establishing the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom), which came into effect on the same day as the Treaty of Rome, 1 January 1958.
Both treaties, in conjunction with the Treaty establishing the European Coal and Steel Community (the Treaty of Paris, which expired in 2001-2002), have become known as the Treaties of Rome.
To date, the original Treaty of Rome has been amended by all subsequent treaties of the European Union. The Treaty of Nice consolidated all treaties into one document, but within this the EC Treaty (the amended form of the Treaty of Rome) remains a single section with its own article numbering.
Despite subsequent treaties, especially the Treaty of Maastricht, the EC Treaty is still the legal basis for most decisions taken by the institutions of the European Union and it remains the main source of communitary legislation.

Treaties of Rome Signatories

Berlin Declaration (2007)
Common Agricultural Policy
Four Freedoms (European Union)
History of the European Union

No comments: