Thursday, November 29, 2007

Inverness Burghs was a district of burghs constituency of the House of Commons of the Parliament of Great Britain from 1708 to 1801 and of the Parliament of the United Kingdom from 1801 to 1918. Its Member of Parliament represented the parliamentary burghs of Inverness, Fortrose, Forres and Nairn.
There was also, 1708 to 1918, the Inverness-shire constituency, which was, as its name implies, a county constituency.
In 1918, the component burghs of Inverness Burghs were merged into three different county constituencies: Inverness into the Inverness constituency, Forres and Nairn into the Moray and Nairn constituency and Fortrose into the Ross and Cromarty constituency.

Inverness Burghs Members of Parliament

1708 Alexander Duff
1710 George Mackenzie
1713 William Steuart
1722 Alexander Gordon
1722 Duncan Forbes
1737 Duncan Urquhart
1741 Kenneth Mackenzie, Baron Fortrose
1747 Alexander Brodie
1754 John Campbell
1761 Sir Alexander Grant
1768 Sir Hector Munro
1802 Alexander Penrose Cumming-Gordon
1803 George Cumming
1806 Francis William Grant, later Earl of Seafield
1807 Peter Baillie
1811 Charles Grant, later Baron Glenelg
1818 George Cumming
1826 Robert Grant
1830 John Baillie
1831 Charles Lennox Cumming Bruce
1832 John Baillie
1833 Charles Lennox Cumming Bruce
1837 Roderick MacLeod
1840 James Morrison
1847 Alexander Matheson, Liberal
1868 Aeneas William Mackintosh
1874 Charles Fraser-Mackintosh
1885 Robert Bannatyne Finlay, later Viscount Finlay Liberal
1892 Gilbert Beith
1895 Robert Bannatyne Finlay, later Viscount Finlay Liberal
1906 John Annan Bryce Liberal

No comments: