Thursday, November 8, 2007

David Daiches
David Daiches (September 2, 1912July 15, 2005) was a Scottish literary historian and literary critic, scholar and writer. He wrote extensively on English literature, Scottish literature and Scottish culture.


The Place of Meaning in Poetry (1935)
New Literary Values; Studies in Modern Literature (1936)
Literature and Society (1938)
Poetry and the Modern World: A Study of Poetry in England Between 1900 and 1939 (1940)
Virginia Woolf (1942)
Robert Louis Stevenson (1947)
A Study Of Literature (For Readers And Critics) (1948)
Robert Burns (1950)
Stevenson and the Art of Fiction (1951)
A Century of the Essay: British and American (1951)
Willa Cather - A Critical Introduction (1951)
Two Worlds : A Jewish Childhood in Edinburgh (1956) (memoirs)
Literary Essays (1956)
Critical Approaches to Literature (1956)
The Present Age in British Literature (After 1920) (1958)
Two Studies: The Poetry of Dylan Thomas, Walt Whitman: Impressionist Prophet (1958)
Robert Louis Stevenson - a Laurel Reader (1959) editor
A Critical History of English Literature (1960) two volumes
The Novel and the Modern World (1960)
White Man in the Tropics: Two Moral Tales (1962)
D. H. Lawrence (1963)
George Eliot: Middlemarch (1963)
English Literature (1964)
Milton (1964)
The Idea of a New University. An Experiment in Sussex (1964) editor
The Paradox of Scottish Culture: The Eighteenth Century Experience (1964)
More Literary Essays (1968)
The King James Version of the English Bible (1968)
Scotch Whisky: Its Past and Present (1969)
Some Late Victorian Attitudes (1969) Ewing Lectures
A Third World (1971) (memoirs)
Penguin Companion to Literature - Britain and the Commonwealth (1971) editor
Sir Walter Scott and His World (1971)
Robert Burns and His World (1972)
Literature and Western Civilization (1972-6) editor with Anthony Thorlby, six volumes
Robert Louis Stevenson and His World (1973)
Bonnie Prince Charlie: The Life and Times of Charles Edward Stuart (1973)
Moses: Man in the Wilderness (1975) Moses: The Man and the Vision in the US
Was: A Pastime from Time Past (1975)
James Boswell and His World (1976)
Shakespeare: Julius Caesar (1976)
Glasgow (1977)
Scotland and the Union (1977)
Edinburgh (1978)
The Butterfly and the Cross (1978)
The Selected Poems of Robert Burns (1979)
Andrew Fletcher of Saltoun. Selected Political Writings and Speeches (1979) editor
Literary Landscapes of the British Isles. A Narrative Atlas (1979) with John Flower
A Companion to Scottish Culture (1981)
The Avenel Companion to English and American Literature (1981) editor
Literature and Gentility in Scotland (1982)
God and the Poets (1984) Gifford Lectures (1983)
A Hotbed of Genius: The Scottish Enlightenment, 1730 – 1790 (1986) editor with Jean Jones and Peter Jones
Let's Collect Scotch Whisky (Jarrold Collectors Series) (1988)
A Wee Dram: Drinking Scenes from Scottish Literature (1990)
A Weekly Scotsman And Other Poems (1994)

No comments: